jump to navigation

Your Daily Dose of Awesomeness February 18, 2011

Posted by Skippy in Comics, Movies, Observations.
Tags: , ,
trackback


Fig. 1. Well, hello, Thor!

Children, you all know that I am a DC Comics partisan. I know the DC Universe inside and out, backwards and forwards. I consider DC Comics to be the Olympian Gods, while I consider Marvel to be…well, soapy. And I don’t mean that in a complimentary way. This opinion has, generally, extended to these comics companies’ respective movie franchises. While I’ll go see a “Spider-Man” movie, it’s usually out of a perfunctory fanboyishness that I do so rather than out of a deep devotion; in other words, I can go see “Iron Man” once and be happy. If it’s a Superman movie, count on me going to see it enough times to make the people at the movie theater know me on a first name basis.

I think Thor might change that. Seriously. That trailer is twenty kinds of awesome—and no, I’m not saying that just because there are two shots of Chris Hemsworth in all of his shirtless, muscular glory…although that’s part of it. Who are you to judge me? Anyway, it looks like a Big, Loud, Fun Summer Movie. The kind of summer superhero movie that a certain movie of five years ago should have been.

Fig. 2: Dammit, for the last time, Superman Returns’s suckitude wasn’t my fault!

Anyway, this is the first time I’ve ever said this, but I cannot wait for a Marvel comics movie to come out.

Comments»

1. Heidi - February 18, 2011

I’ve been thinking of you. My 7 year old is smitten with Superman. I’m hoping she’ll be nerdy enough to want to go to ComicCon & DragonCon.


Leave a Reply

