jump to navigation

Virginia is for Crazies October 20, 2010

Posted by Skippy in General Weirdness, Politics.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Virginia Thomas, wife of Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas, called Anita Hill this past weekend and left a lovely, thoughtful message for her:

Good morning, Anita Hill, it’s Ginni Thomas. I just wanted to reach across the airwaves and the years and ask you to consider something. I would love you to consider an apology some time and some full explanation of why you did what you did with my husband. So give it some thought and certainly pray about this and come to understand why you did what you did. OK, have a good day.”

Ok, I’ve got a couple of reactions, all of which are far less measured than Ms. Hill’s simple, “I have no intention of apologizing because I testified truthfully about my experience and I stand by that testimony.”

First reaction: Bitch, is you CRAZY?
Seriously. Hill’s accusations of sexual harassment and the subsequent bullshit that Clarence Thomas spouted during his confirmation hearings happened damn near twenty years ago! Let’s talk about life in 1991:
* There was no Internet (at least, not anything worth speaking of)
* There was a Bush in the White House, but his name was George Herbert Walker Bush…and he was a helluva lot smarter than his son, the Chimp.
* Cell phones were heavy enough to double as a deadly weapon.
* People still bought cassettes
* There was only ONE Star Wars Trilogy
* Nobody had ever heard of Al Qaida or Osama Bin Laden
* Nobody had ever heard of Barack Obama or Sarah Palin, and John McCain was just another Senator.

So, now damn near twenty fucking years later, this crazy heffa is going to call Anita Hill (who is now a law professor at Brandeis University) and ask her to apologize for leveling sexual harassment charges against Clarence Thomas? Seriously? Bitch, is you CRAZY?

Second reaction: Were you drunk when you made this call?
These are not the actions of a sane person. There are a few people who’ve done things to piss me off in the past twenty years. Hell, I recently had lunch with a college “friend” with whom I got into a bitter argument regarding my sexuality…thirteen years ago. No doubt, that argument was still in the background, and if he wanted to offer an apology for how he acted, that would have been cool. But if I had the unmitigated gall of “Ginny” Thomas and had demanded an apology from him, I likely would have gotten the “Bitch, is you CRAZY?” treatment—and frankly, it would have been well deserved. But then again, I was sober during that lunch. The only conclusion I can make is that Ginny was either drunk off her ass, or she’s one Valium short of being sane.

Third reaction: Hell to the motherfuckin’ NAW!
Granted, Ms. Hill is a law professor at a well-known university, so going all crackheaded Whitney on Ginny might not be the classiest way to respond to such an absurd bit of political theater. But seriously; if Hill had been in her office (note: the call came in on the weekend, so you know that Ginny did that shit on purpose, because she wasn’t woman enough to say that dumb shit to Anita’s face), could you blame her if she had said, “Hell to the motherfuckin’ NO, you crazy bitter bitch!”?

Oh, and for the record: I still believe Anita.

And Ginny was sippin’ too much gin when she “extended that olive branch.” Olive branch, my ass.

Comments»

1. Heidi - October 20, 2010

She had to be on something other than sweet tea when she made that call– you are totally right. I also wondered if she’s trying to get a book deal.

I support Prof. Hill. Did then, do now.

Skippy - October 20, 2010

She should title it “No Pubes In My Coke.”

2. keithosaunders - October 20, 2010

I hadn’t thought of it but maybe that’s the best explanation — hitting the sherry too hard. I just figure that when you’re wealthy and christian you feel you have carte blanche to ask for your cake and eat it too.

Skippy - October 20, 2010

And then claim that you’re “extending an olive branch.” Sheesh!


Leave a Reply

