jump to navigation

If We Got Our Creation Stories From Comics… April 23, 2010

Posted by Skippy in Comics, Humor, Popular Culture, Religion.
Tags: , ,
trackback

As some of you all know, I love comics. Especially Superman, Green Lantern, Wonder Woman, and even Aquaman.* I’ve even thought about teaching a course on comics as modern mythology. So you can imagine my delight when I came across this comic strip.

Click for Larger Image

Of course, when I have attempted to talk about comics, mythology and religion, I usually get students who are offended at the mere suggestion that Superman’s origin story could resemble in any way either Moses or Jesus’s stories. Because Superman’s completely made up, you see, and none of that stuff in the gospels about Jesus’s birth/origin/miracles is made up at all.

*Aquaman made me gay. True story.

Comments»

1. Heidi - April 23, 2010

Is it true that R. Crumb did a comic version of Genesis? I don’t know enough about him. Does that qualify as comic or graphic novel? I’d take your class in a heartbeat. 🙂

Roger Sneed - April 25, 2010

I have seen R. Crumb’s comic version of Genesis–I think it would qualify as a graphic novel; weirdly enough, I hadn’t thought of using this in a course. I think that that might be an interesting discussion starter…

EEB - April 26, 2010

Roger, I highly recommend using it in a class! It’d help students understand how violent their sacred beliefs are and maybe open them up to comparing & contrasting comic mythology with sacred myth.

2. EEB - April 26, 2010

& X-Men made me gay.

Roger Sneed - April 26, 2010

X-Men? It was Wolverine, wasn’t it?

eeb - June 30, 2010

Nope. Not into the hairy men. Cyclops.

3. Skippy - June 30, 2010

Ooh, Cyclops. I can see that.


Leave a Reply

