jump to navigation

Today’s Observation April 22, 2010

Posted by Skippy in Gay and Lesbian Issues, Observations.
Tags:
add a comment

So, Larry King is getting his 8th divorce, Elizabeth Taylor is possibly getting married for a 9th time, Jesse James and Tiger Woods are screwing EVERYTHING, yet the idea of same-sex marriage is what is going to destroy the institution of marriage?? REALLY??

Law and Order: People Are Crazy! April 22, 2010

Posted by Skippy in Humor, Popular Culture.
Tags: , ,
add a comment

Children, it’s been a while since I’ve seen a new episode of Law and Order: Special Victims Unit(SVU). Remember when that show was good? Elliott and Olivia got really interesting–if not totally fucked up–cases and the occasional plot twist was usually unexpected, but completely logical.

Not anymore.

Last night’s episode was so bad, that my joke about who dunnit actually turned out to be true!

Ok, so a woman was found with her throat slit; she had also been raped. That’s pretty par for the course for SVU, right? Well, Stabler (he’s anything BUT Stable) and Benson (she who has All The Drama–and an Emmy!) immediately suspect the woman’s vegan, overly pet-friendly, total milquetoast boyfriend. It made absolutely no sense whatsoever. But in SVU-land, anyone can be a brazen murderer. Anyone.

Oh, and when did the SVU get such cool tech toys? They’ve got these giant TV screens that you can draw on and can triangulate the shield frequency of the closest Federation…oh, wait. Wrong franchise. Sorry. Anyway, they really have cool shit and they don’t mind showing it off every damn episode now. It’s getting kind of annoying. If I wanted that level of unreality, I’d watch CSI. So stop it with the giant iPads, ok?

So anyway, vegan boyfriend didn’t do it. It was obvious to the viewers, but not to Benson and Stabler, who went after him with a blind righteousness found only in the eyes of a Crusader on his way to try to reclaim Jerusalem for the Byzantine Empire. They eventually follow the trail and clues (like, fibers of clothing, and dog saliva and I don’t know, I just watch) to some dude who worked at a meat packing plant. Then they find a bunch of pictures of women’s butts on her computer. Huh, whaaaa–?

Fig. 1 Ice-T is smoking what I should be smoking to get through this episode.

It seems our deceased was working to uncover unsafe practices at a local meat packing plant. When we came back from commercial, we were dropped into the end of a commercial being filmed for Donna Rosa meats. A kindly old woman is serving only the best meats to her totally fake family. I started singing something like “The Old Lady did it! She’s totally a murderer!!!” I then thought, “Wouldn’t it be wild if that old lady killed her?”

Blah, blah, blah, stupid plot twists, the detectives finally settle on a plausible suspect.

Fig. 2 Looks like a murderer to me! Book him, Dano!

But no! He didn’t, even though he folded like a cheap suit! Because the deceased’s throat was slit from left to right, indicating that murderer was right handed. The accused in the ugly sweater was a lefty! Dun Dun DUNNNN!!!! Therefore the real murderer is out there…which obviously leads Benson and StablerMunch and Benson (I guess Elliott was late for one of his rage sessions) to Donna Rosa’s apartment to ask questions.

Fig. 3 Why are you questioning me? I’m a sweet old lady who wouldn’t hurt a fly!

Fig. 4 MURDERERRRRRRRRR!!

So, yeah. The old lady did it. And put her son up to lying about it. And tried to frame another worker for the crime by typing a letter to his wife that made it appear as though the worker was having an affair with the deceased. Totally makes sense.

Now what have we learned from this Very Special Episode of SVU? That’s right: don’t trust the elderly. They will cut your throat and make it look like you were raped and then frame someone else for your faked rape.

Misery Pimpin’: Prologue April 22, 2010

Posted by Skippy in Black folks, Culture, Humor, Popular Culture.
Tags: , , , ,
add a comment

So last night, Nightline aired the “Why Can’t A Successful Black Woman Find a Man” misery-fest. I didn’t watch it, as I was busy sleeping. But thanks be to the Interwebz, the one-hour shitfest is preserved in all its ignominious buffoonery–including the question and answer session!

Y’all, I’ve tried to watch this. I’ve tried several times now to start watching this, but I find myself muttering, “Just shut up, you dumbass!” and hitting the pause button. I want to recap this for you and add my own remarks. I really do. However, the few minutes I’ve seen are so full of full-on stupidity, that I fear for what’s left of my sanity should I watch the entire thing.

A few highlights from the five minutes I’ve seen:
* Sherri Shepherd saying that she wants a man who will help her take out her weave. Why doesn’t she marry RuPaul?
* Some lame-ass “author” I’ve never heard of in a too-tight fugly T-shirt and jeans (he couldn’t have been arsed to put on some slacks and a nice shirt? I dress better than that when I go to Wal-Mart!) saying some dumb shit about something.
* Hill Harper is foine and all, but I really don’t want to hear him say diddly about relationships. He’s the Kevin Powell of this generation–saying a lot, but really ain’t saying shit.
* Some fool in the audience who is playing to the camera starts blathering about “what Black men want.” Shut up and read some critical theory, you overdressed dandy. This ain’t a damn job interview.

Anyway, ABC has graciously posted the whole video…in ten parts. They’ve even included subtitles for each part! How kind of them.

Part 1: Sherri Shepherd and Jimi Izrael battle it out over standards and wigs.
Me: REALLY?? Wigs? Who the fuck cares about wigs? Oh, god, I hate you people.

Part 2: Hill Harper argues that misinformation is destroying the black families.
Me: Was this supposed to be self-referential?

Part 3: Izrael says that women need to set some standards when picking a mate.
Me: Wow. I’ve totally misjudged you based on such a stunning argument. Clearly, underneath that too-tight T-shirt, crappy beard and ugly pair of jeans lies the mind of a giant!

Part 4: The topic of fidelity brings out personal testimonies by the panelists.
Me: You know what this means. The women will go on about how some dude done them wrong and how they missed all the signs. It’ll probably sound a lot like Kelly Price’s “Friend of Mine” but less interesting.

Part 5: Steve Harvey argues that men aren’t ever intimidated by female success.
Me: Why the hell is this fool saying ANYTHING about male/female relationships? Seriously.

Part 6: Both sides offer different views on interracial encounters.
Me: “Encounters”? What the damn–? This isn’t “Race Trek: The Next Miscegenation,” you idiots!

Part 7: A past encounter between two panelists brings the audience to their feet
Me: Eyeroll. This sounds like some old minstrel shit.

Part 8: Panelists share their final thoughts as the audience prepares questions.
Me: I wish that I had been there. I’ve definitely got a question or two for them.

Part 9: Audience questions and comments push the panel to their breaking points.
Translation: a couple of panelists got told.

Part 10: Steve Harvey offers final thoughts as the Face-off comes to a close.
Me: Again: why the are you saying anything, Steve Harvey? You are a comedian. And not a terribly funny one at that. You also had a television show in which you–YOU–got the finest woman on the show to “fall in love with you” and put up with your tired, sexist wisecracks, none of which were in the same galaxy as “funny.” Of course, it’s television, so anything can happen there.

So here’s the deal: I’m going to watch this crap this weekend and take notes. I should have a post detailing this racist, sexist trainwreck and the eventual suicide note that I will write after watching this. Of course, Netflix also sent me Tyler Perry’s “I Can Do Bad All By Myself,” so this weekend should be chock full of Black misery!*

*I don’t know why I put that in my Netflix queue. I think I figured that since I was paying for the service, I might as well get TP’s crappy oeuvre out of the way.